CBD Oil in Michigan 2021: Updated Legal Status, Where To Buy, And More
Like is the case with many states in America, Michigan has a somewhat confusing body of laws where marijuana is concerned. Unfortunately, this legal conundrum ropes in even the non-psychoactive CBD, which suffers from association with its infamous cousin THC. In Michigan, this guilt-by-association applies even when the CBD comes from hemp- the law makes no distinction. Users have to be careful to avoid related legal pitfalls. In other states, you ensure compliance by going for a medical card and a prescription and to buy from a state-sanctioned dispensary. Does the same case apply to Michigan? Keep reading this article on CBD oil in Michigan to get a clearer picture.
Marijuana Legal Status in Michigan
The law on marijuana in Michigan, like in all other jurisdictions in America, is a motley mix of federal, state, and local regulations which are not always in harmony. As a state that has legalized the use of recreational marijuana, Michigan attempts to make a distinction between therapeutic and recreational use of marijuana in its law.
In some jurisdictions, the implementation of the law may be curtailed by regulations about something else further down the supply chain. For example, CBD in Tennessee is legal, but it may be illegal to sell it. Qualified users, therefore, find it challenging to get a product they can use.
It is also quite usual to find a jurisdiction where the law prohibits the use or sale of marijuana, but enforcing such prohibitions are rare. Failure of enforcement is usually because the matter is low on the priority list of the authorities. In such a scenario, the user’s freedom is determined by who is setting priorities for the police. A new person may come into authority with new priorities, thus suddenly, making it difficult for users or even putting them in danger of arrest. Are there similar bottlenecks in Michigan, or is it much smoother in the state? That’s what we shall be looking at.
We shall also attempt to break down the steps Michigan has taken, over time, in crafting laws on cannabis. Further, we shall look at the practical application of these laws and how you can ensure that you are on their right side when purchasing and using marijuana.
Marijuana Law in the History of Michigan
Historically Michigan had a strict prohibition on the use of marijuana. The ban was enforced through harsh penalties because marijuana was a schedule one restricted substance at the federal level. It was a misdemeanor to have any amount of marijuana, and punishment for such possession was a maximum of one year in jail and a fine of $2000.
Cultivation and distribution were punished even more harshly. Sale or growth of cannabis attracted a sentence of 15 years in prison and $10,000,000 fine if convicted. This was the same punishment that was meted out on people who sold hard drugs such as heroin, cocaine, and methamphetamine, among others.
A person who shared their marijuana for free or grew it for personal use was not spared by the law either. They were liable to incarceration for a maximum of 90 days and a fine of up to $1000 upon conviction. This punishment was similar to the one meted out on users as it was also illegal to use the drug. It is important to note that the law, at the time, made no distinction between those who used it for recreational purposes and those who used it for therapeutic purposes.
The tide on the legality of marijuana in Michigan started turning slowly, not at the state but the municipal level. Local governments began changing their attitudes towards cannabis and, accordingly, issued less and less punitive regulations for its use. While municipalities loosened restrictions, state laws still superseded municipal laws. Thus started the trend where higher and lower levels of government had marijuana laws that were at odds with each other.
Municipals liberalized their laws on weed as follows:-
Ann Arbor – 1972
Grand Rapids – 2012
Hazel Park – 2014
Pleasant Ridge- 2014
Port Huron – 2014
Mount Pleasant – 2014
Huntington Woods – 2014
East Lansing – 2015
Keego Harbor – 2015
All these municipalities made their regulations against recreational use less restrictive before the state followed suit. The state later legalized recreational use of marijuana for adults in 2018 – we shall have a more in-depth look at the new state law on recreational use of cannabis later. In the meantime, let’s look at the therapeutic use and the law.
In 2008 the Michigan Compassionate Care Initiative was presented to voters as a ballot measure. It was passed with 63% of the votes cast on 6 th November.
This measure provided that seriously sick and terminally ill patients could use marijuana for the management of their symptoms. For a patient to qualify, they had to have a recommendation from a qualified physician. The initiative listed diseases that qualified to use weed legally. It also allowed patients or their caregivers to grow a limited number of plants, which would be their source. The law also established a registry of licensed users and put restrictions on public use of marijuana. The provisions of this measure have been explained in greater detail below.
Called the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act, the introduction of this ballot measure was based on scientific evidence that indicated the possibility of cannabis having health benefits in some cases. The law provides that a physician recommending a patient for the use of medical marijuana should provide ample documentary evidence. The evidence is intended to show a genuine doctor-patient relationship between the two. Documents should also establish beyond doubt that the patient the doctor recommends has one of the qualifying diseases. Evidence for the existence of a doctor-patient relationship is also a way to show that the doctor will keep providing care for the patient even after they start using cannabis.
The law spells out the specific illnesses it considers debilitating enough to qualify to use medical marijuana. They are also the diseases on which cannabis has been proven effective by science. These illnesses include: –
- HIV positive individuals and those who have full-blown AIDS
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Crohn’s disease
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Nail patella
Other conditions that are not listed may qualify a patient to use medical marijuana if they have the following symptoms or if their treatment leads to the following side effects: –
- Wasting syndrome (cachexia)
- Severe, chronic pain
- Hyperemesis (severe nausea)
- Muscle spasms that are severe and persistent such as those experienced by patients with multiple sclerosis.
The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) is the body charged with the responsibility of determining whether or not a person qualifies. Once a person has been authorized, the department enters their name into the registry. It then issues them with a Registry Identification Card, which is the document the patient or their caregiver keeps to show that they are qualified.
The original legislation didn’t provide for selling cannabis, but it allowed authorized patients to grow a maximum of six plants each. These plants were to be their source, and it remained an offense to sell weed even among qualifying patients. The law also provided that the patient or caregiver could only have a maximum of 2.5 ounces of the drug on them at any particular time. It is against the law for a qualified patient to use the weed in a public place as such usage would contribute to second-hand smoke on other people.
After passing this law, the number of qualified patients increased, making it necessary for marijuana businesses to play a role in distribution. As the law stood, these businesses were illegal and without a regulatory framework. This exposed users to all manner of risks. Business operators also faced reprisals from law enforcers even when they only sold to authorized customers because the law as it stood forbid the selling of the product.
To remedy the situation, the state legislature passed three bills, all of which were signed into law by Governor Rick Snyder in September 2016. These three bills allowed for the establishment of marijuana businesses and a regulatory framework for them. The regulations in these bills also provided protections for customers against rogue marijuana sellers.
Besides the 2.5 ounces of marijuana, the amendment allows users also to have what it calls ‘usable marijuana equivalents.’ This refers to products infused with cannabis such as cookies, gummies, and oils, among others. The law equates 1 ounce of marijuana to 16 ounces of marijuana-infused edibles. They also equate it to seven grams of marijuana-infused vapor or gas, such as vape from shatter or vape oil.
If the alternative formulation is a beverage or another liquid, one ounce of dry weed is equated to 36 liquid ounces of the drink. A patient or caregiver should calculate to ensure they don’t have on them an equivalent of more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana.
The next category of players affected by this amendment are sellers of marijuana. This category of players evolved from caregivers. With time, as patients increased, caregivers established provision centers from which those, who for any reason, couldn’t get cannabis from their plants could get the weed they needed. Those who had extra marijuana from their plants would also take their surplus to the provision centers. The court, however, ruled that these provision centers were operating outside the law.
The amendment put in place a regulatory framework for other players in the chain of production. These include farmers, processors, laboratories, transporters, and, eventually, the provision centers. This means that these crucial players no longer operated outside of the law. It also protected users because the state could now regulate the quality of products and hygiene standards.
While all this was going on, cannabis remained illegal in the United States at the federal level. The federal law restricted anything sourced from marijuana, whether it was CBD dominant or THC dominant. Qualified marijuana users in Michigan, therefore, couldn’t take their 2.5 ounces just anywhere in the country but only to other states where marijuana was legal.
Farm Bill 2014
President Obama signed the Farm Bill – 2008. The bill legalized farming of industrial hemp and research on it and all its products. The said industrial hemp should contain 0.3% THC or less, and this made more marijuana products available for users. As a result of this legislation, Michigan put in place legal measures to enable research on industrial hemp in the state. It is, however, noteworthy that there are no separate laws for hemp products in Michigan; they are treated the same as regular cannabis products, and it is wise to be careful to follow any rules that apply.
Proposal 18 – 1 for the legalization of recreational marijuana was passed as a ballot measure on 6 th November 2018. The law allows the state government to regulate and tax recreational marijuana, just like it does alcohol. This law provides for possession and cultivation as follows:
- Cannabis can only be possessed and used by adults who are above 21 years of age. It further allows individuals of the right age to : –
- Be in possession, use, and give away to other qualified adults a maximum of two and a half ounces of marijuana. The law also allows them to purchase the same quantity of weed.
- A person who is 21 years and above is authorized to grow up to twelve marijuana plants within their residential place. The plants shouldn’t be visible from the outside of the compound on which they are grown without the use of additional equipment such as binoculars, and the compound where it is produced should be locked.
- It is also legal for them to have up to 10 ounces as long as only 2.5 ounces of the weed are on them at any given time. The ten ounces are to be kept in the person’s primary residence under lock and key. The law also makes it legal for a person who is qualified even to process and sell marijuana. It further allows them to manufacture related paraphernalia. It is, however, illegal, except under an exclusive license for anyone to extract marijuana resin using butane or any other flammable solvent that has a flashpoint that is below 1000 Fahrenheit.
- While marijuana for recreation is legal, it may not be used in public places unless it is otherwise allowed. Instances, where such usage may be allowed, is in a municipality that has designated locations for public use. Failure to observe this restriction attracts a fine of $100.
- It is illegal to possess marijuana in preschool or a K-12 institution and inside the compound of a correctional facility.
- Employers and landlords are within their rights to prohibit their employees from using marijuana in the workplace, and landlords can restrict certain rights provided in this law.
- This law also gives some leeway to local governments to limit the number of marijuana-related businesses within their jurisdictions, and to put in place other related restrictions.
Other powers given to municipalities include: –
- Set the regulations for signage for marijuana businesses
- Set the time limits within which marijuana businesses should operate
- Designate places where marijuana may be used in public by adults and restrict access by underage people to the designated areas
- Municipalities are also empowered to determine the penalties imposed on those who disobey regulations. These can only be civil infractions since all matters of marijuana have been decriminalized, and the maximum fine allowed is $500.
- Citizens and interest groups in a particular municipality are allowed to petition the city to reduce the number of marijuana businesses in the town. There is no limit to how low the petition can go, and they can even petition for a total ban.
LARA is responsible for formulating and promulgating rules about the growth, processing, sale, and general management of hemp business, among others.
Do You Need a Medical Card for CBD in Michigan?
Initially, a user needed to have a permit to use CBD in Michigan. The Registry Identification Card, however, couldn’t precisely be categorized as a regular Medical Marijuana Card. A medical marijuana card is used to enable the user to access marijuana in an authorized dispensary. In Michigan, there were no dispensaries, as every patient grows their weed. Provision Centers are also run and stocked by licensed users and caregivers, and the licensed user, therefore, only needs to be known in the circle to get cannabis from provision centers.
The need for unique identification has further reduced by the legalization of recreational marijuana for adults over 21. The legalization means that virtually any adult in Michigan can grow marijuana solely for enjoyment. Any of the people who are qualified to use cannabis for therapeutic purposes can buy it over the counter.
This, of course, is unless the patient is below 21, which is the legal minimum age for recreational marijuana use. This is an improbable scenario since, below 21 years, there are only 20-year-olds before teenage. Research has shown that marijuana has a permanent effect on the mental health of teenagers. It means, therefore, that a teenager can only be prescribed to use marijuana if there is no alternative. If it has proven necessary for them to use medical marijuana, they’d need to have their permit as proof of authorization.
Michigan has a somewhat confusing body of laws where marijuana is concerned. Keep reading this article on CBD oil in Michigan to get a clearer picture.
Where to Buy CBD in Michigan in 2020
If you’re looking to buy CBD in Michigan, you’ll find the most extensive variety and best prices online.
The CBD industry is brand new and constantly changing. As a result, there are a ton of companies that are trying to make a quick buck from the sudden surge of people buying CBD.
It’s essential that you educate yourself on the laws and regulations regarding CBD, so you don’t fall victim to these shady companies.
This article will clear up any concerns you might have about the law and point you in the direction of reliable suppliers in Michigan.
Table of Contents
- Buy CBD Oil in Michigan:
- What is CBD?
- Is CBD Legal in Michigan?
- How to Buy CBD in Michigan
- How to Protect Yourself from Shady CBD Companies
- 1. Online Shops
- 2. Local Stores in Michigan
- Is Marijuana Legal in Michigan?
- Medical Marijuana
- You Cannot Apply to Be a Medical Marijuana Grower If You:
- How do I get Medical Marijuana in Michigan?
- Additionally, you must have one of the following eligible medical conditions:
- Recreational Marijuana
- Medical Marijuana
- Recommended CBD Retailers in Michigan
- Grand Rapids
- Ann Arbor
- Final Notes on Buying CBD in Michigan
Buy CBD Oil in Michigan:
- Royal CBD Oil— Best CBD Oil Overall
- Gold Bee CBD Gummies— Best CBD Gummies
- CBDistillery THC-Free Pure CBD Oil— Best CBD Isolate Oil
- Industrial Hemp Farms— Best CBD Flower
- Honest Paws CBD Oil For Dogs— Best CBD Oil For Dogs
What is CBD?
CBD (cannabidiol) is a compound found in marijuana and hemp plants. CBD is separate from THC, which is the part of marijuana that causes the user to feel high.
CBD is useful as a treatment for many different medical conditions and offers relief from seizures, pain, anxiety, and inflammation. Researchers have discovered more medicinal applications as the Federal Government relaxes the laws regarding marijuana and increases research funding.
Flowering marijuana plants will produce CBD that contains higher levels of THC; this means that you will probably experience the high associated with marijuana if you use these products.
On the other hand, CBD derived from industrial hemp contain only trace amounts of THC (usually less than 0.3%) and won’t get you high. These products are a great way to take advantage of the benefits of CBD without worrying about psychoactive effects.
The laws regarding CBD change from state to state and largely depend on the source.
So, let’s take a look at the laws in Michigan.
Is CBD Legal in Michigan?
YES! CBD is legal to purchase across the Great Lake State. As I mentioned earlier, however, the laws change if your oils are marijuana- or industrial hemp-derived.
If you are approved for a medical marijuana license, you can purchase marijuana-derived CBD from your local dispensary.
But, without a medical marijuana license, there is currently no legal way to obtain these CBD products in Michigan.
However, this is not the case with CBD products made using industrial hemp.
Since 2014, CBD derived from industrial hemp has been legal to purchase across the United States thanks to the Agricultural Act.
When the Federal Government passed the Agricultural Act, it took industrial hemp off of the list of controlled substances; this meant that farmers were now legally allowed to grow hemp to produce paper, fuels, clothing, food, and extracts.
How to Buy CBD in Michigan
You should have no problem tracking down your favorite CBD products in Michigan. Now that marijuana is legal, you will see CBD pop up in stores across the state.
However, you need to take care when purchasing CBD. This is because some companies are using CBD’s sudden rise in popularity to take advantage of uneducated customers.
So don’t waste your money on low-quality CBD products. Here are a few tips for finding high-quality products online and in-store.
How to Protect Yourself from Shady CBD Companies
- Only purchase from companies that have had their products tested by an outside lab.The Food and Drug Administration has found that some products claiming to contain CBD have a CBD content of nearly 0%. Don’t get scammed into buying from one of these companies.
- Double-check the THC content. Currently, only industrial hemp CBD is legal in all 50 states. Make sure the company isn’t dodging any local laws or regulations before placing an order.
- Buy products that are made using CO2 extraction. CO2 extraction is by far the cleanest way to make CBD products. It doesn’t require any additional solvents or heat to extract CBD from the plants. This means that your product will be pure and shouldn’t contain any unwanted chemicals.
- Avoid the cheapest stuff you can find. Making CBD products is technical and careful work. The cheapest options on the market aren’t the best choice for a product used to boost your overall health.
If you do your research before making a purchase, it’s easy to find a trustworthy supplier of CBD in Michigan.
Check out our guide for buying CBD online below!
1. Online Shops
Buying CBD online will save you time and money. There are many reliable suppliers for all your CBD needs just a click or two away.
Shopping online for your CBD offers many benefits that make your life easier.
First of all, there is no need to drive all around the city to find the products you want. There is a huge variety of CBD products available online (creams, lotions, tinctures, wax, etc.) to suit your personal needs.
Second, online suppliers will send your CBD products straight to your door. Are you starting to run low? No problem, place an order with your favorite store and it’ll show up on your steps in a matter of days.
Third, shopping online is almost always less expensive than going to a store. Buying directly through the supplier cuts out the middleman, which allows the savings to be passed directly onto you.
Lastly, you can easily look up information about the supplier and make your purchase with confidence. As a health supplement, you want the best CBD you can find. Making your purchase online allows you to quickly do a background check on the supplier and make sure they are the real deal.
However, there are many stores in Michigan that can help you with your CBD needs. So, if you would prefer to check out some products in-store, take a look at our list below for a few reliable recommendations!
2. Local Stores in Michigan
Now that recreational marijuana is legal in Michigan, you will be seeing a ton of shops around the state selling CBD over the counter.
If you are a medical marijuana patient, your best bet is always your local dispensary.
For those of you waiting for recreational dispensaries to open up, you’re looking at about two years before they’re ready for business.
But if you can’t wait that long, don’t stress! You should still be able to find industrial hemp CBD in vape stores and natural health retailers.
Is Marijuana Legal in Michigan?
In November 2018, Michigan joined a growing number of states that have legalized marijuana for recreational use. A medical marijuana program has been in place for nearly a decade already.
Michigan has generally been pretty relaxed when it comes to marijuana. The city of Ann Arbor decriminalized marijuana possession in 1971. Back then, the fine for possession was only $5 (approximately $30 in today’s standards).
If you require marijuana for medical purposes, Michigan is one of the best places to be in America. Here’s why …
Michigan first passed a medical marijuana law in 2008. Voters passed Proposal 1 with a 63% majority.
This result led to the creation of the Michigan Medical Marijuana Act, under which eligible patients can legally grow up to 12 plants and have a maximum of 2.5 ounces.
You can also apply to be a licensed medical marijuana grower. Anyone can do this. However, there are a few circumstances that automatically make an applicant ineligible.
You Cannot Apply to Be a Medical Marijuana Grower If You:
- Have not been a resident of Michigan for the past two years.
- Have already filed a knowingly false application to become a grower in the past.
- Are a member of the Medical Marijuana Licensing Board.
- Have been convicted of a felony within the past ten years.
- Have been convicted of a misdemeanor involving a controlled substance, theft, dishonesty, or fraud in any state within the last five years.
- Are unable to obtain premises liability and casualty insurance.
- Are an elected official.
If any of these apply to you, then, unfortunately, you can’t currently become a legal, medical marijuana grower in Michigan.
However, if you are approved for a growing license, then you can provide marijuana for up to five patients. This number rises to six if you are also a patient.
That means, if you are a licensed medical marijuana grower in Michigan, you could potentially grow up to 72 plants.
Pretty awesome, hey?!
How do I get Medical Marijuana in Michigan?
If you wish to become a medical marijuana patient in Michigan, the process is relatively simple.
First, you will have to meet the following basic criteria:
- 18 years of age or older
- Resident of Michigan
- Possess a valid form of Michigan-issued ID (driver’s license, voter registration card, or personal identification card)
Additionally, you must have one of the following eligible medical conditions:
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Crohn’s Disease
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Severe pain
- Severe nausea
- Severe muscle spasms
If you fit those qualities, then you will need to download and complete the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program application found here and schedule an appointment with a state-licensed marijuana doctor.
Unfortunately, the state doesn’t provide a list of approved doctors, so you will have to do the legwork yourself and reach out to local physicians.
There is a $60 fee for applying.
If you are interested in medical marijuana, consult your family doctor for more information.
Congratulations Michigan — recreational marijuana was made legal on December 6, 2018!
Although marijuana is now legal for recreational purchases, it might be tough to get your hands on legal weed at the moment. You likely won’t see any recreational dispensaries opening until 2020.
It will take some time before the state establishes a legal framework for recreational marijuana.
The new Michigan Recreational Marijuana Bill allows:
- People aged 21 or older to purchase, possess, and use marijuana.
- Growing up to 12 plants for personal use.
- Transporting up to 2.5 ounces in secure containers and having up to 10 ounces at home.
However, there are conditions. For instance, a landlord is allowed to prohibit the use or cultivation of marijuana on their properties, and your boss can still fire you for using marijuana.
You may not smoke marijuana in public.
So, now that we know the laws in Michigan, how does CBD fit into all of this?
Recommended CBD Retailers in Michigan
- The REEF Detroit
- Forbidden Fruits Detroit
- Detroit Smoke & Vape
- The Vape Shop
- The Head Shop Smoke Shop
- The Grassy Knoll
- Grand Rapids Natural Health
- Mister-E’s Vape Shop
- Joost Vapor
- Grand Rapids E-Liquid
- Green Planet
- Bloom City Club
- Om of Medicine
- Red 13 Vaporizers
- Exscape Smoke & Vapor Lounge
- Café Liv & Wellness
Head into one of these shops and ask them for their advice.
However, once recreational dispensaries open up, they will be your most reliable source for CBD products locally.
If you don’t see your city on our list, try the vape shops in town or take a look online!
Final Notes on Buying CBD in Michigan
With recreational marijuana now legal in Michigan, the Great Lake State is well on its way to becoming a hot spot for CBD.
If you are interested in marijuana-derived CBD products, you will need a medical marijuana license to purchase them legally for the time being.
Until the recreational dispensaries open, you can legally purchase industrial hemp CBD today! We always recommend making your purchase through a reliable online supplier, but you shouldn’t have any trouble tracking it down in-store.
Looking to buy CBD in Michigan? Read this in-depth article to familiarize yourself with the local laws and find the best nearby suppliers!